You can price risk, but not uncertainty.

The Road to Epsom

Derrinstown Stud Derby Trial Stakes

Every year, without fail, we are told that the Derrinstown Stakes is a great Epsom Derby trial - it isn't. We will let the facts speaks for themselves.

Year Winner Epsom Derby Performance
1990 Anvari N/R (Never won again)
1991 Runyon N/R (Never won again)
1992 St Jovite Second
1993 Perfect Imposter N/R
1994 Artema N/R (Never won again)
1995 Humbel 8th
1996 Truth or Dare N/R
1997 Ashley Park N/R
1998 Risk Material N/R
1999 Port Bayou N/R (Never won another race)
2000 Sinndar Won
2001 Galileo Won
2002 High Chaparral Won
2003 Alamshar 3rd
2004 Yeats N/R
2005 Fracas 4th
2006 Dylan Thomas 3rd
2007 Archipenko 17th
2008 Casual Conquest 3rd
2009 Fame and Glory 2nd
2010 Midas Touch 5th (Never won another race)
2011 Recital 6th (Never won another race)
2012 Light Heavy N/R (Never won another race)
2013 Battle of Marengo 4th (Never won another race)
2014 Fascinating Rock 8th
2015 Success Days 12th
2016 Moonlight Magic Last (Never won another race)
2017 Douglas Macarthur 7th (Never won another race)

Source: N=All 15/03/2018.